Church, Manchester, Faith, Punk

I just want to thank…

This is a difficult blog to write. Potentially this could be incredibly self aggrandising so I need to lay down some humility first!

Last night my lovelevenshulme blog won two awards at the Manchester Blog Awards. I write this blog with Helen Power with the aim of being very positive about the area we live in. I got involved on a whim and it has turned into something that has gone way beyond anything I could have imagined. In real terms Helen has done the majority of the writing on the blog and I have beefed up its connectedness to twitter and facebook whilst occasionally writing about kebabs and sandwiches.

I had a vague inkling that we might win the best City and Neighbourhood blog but never imagined that we would win the blog of the year! The other nominated blogs are a wonderful representation of Manchester because they are so imaginative, entrepreneurial and ooze passion! So with that in mind, winning felt like a big deal and genuinely humbling!

So last night myself, Vix and Helen went along to the Deaf Institute in Manchester for an award ceremony. It gave me the opportunity to meet a whole bunch of Mancunian Bloggers, tweeters and social media types. It was a genuinely fascinating evening with some incredibly interesting people.

So I met someone who runs a blog about electronica, someone who writes a film blog, a story writing blog, a blog about parks, a blog about beards, a blog about music, another writing blog and a whole bunch of others I cannot remember.

To be honest I felt like a bit of a fraud because these guys and girls are all very good writers and I can barely spell. Anyhoo, we had a great evening and it felt like we learnt a great deal about the culture of Manchester just by sitting there and listening to people talk.

Manchester has provided so many incredible opportunities in this last year and we have met some very talented people. What will I be writing about in October 2011?

I really really really #lovemanchester

3 responses

  1. thanks for the mention – great to meet you last night, and well done once again! thoroughly deserved.

    Dave

    October 21, 2010 at 11:57 am

  2. I think we were all frauds together. Wonderful, beautiful, talented frauds. Shhhh. Don’t tell anyone!

    October 21, 2010 at 6:39 pm

  3. Pingback: I am kind of a big deal « Tim Simmonds

Leave a Reply

